Updating my Top 10 of 2011 in films after watching Shame

I have some thought aout Steve McQueen’s Shame. But some of the thoughts might be spoiler-ish.

  1. Hugo (MVP: Chlöe Moretz or Ben Kingsley)
  2. Drive (MVP: Albert Brooks or Ryan Gosling)
  3. Midnight in Paris (MVP: Owen Wilson)
  4. Rise of the Planet of the Planet of the Apes (MVP: Andy Serkis)
  5. Melancholia (MVP: Kirsten Dusnt or Charlotte Gaisnbourg)
  6. Carnage (MVP: Kate Winslet)
  7. The Skin I Live In (MVP: Antonio Banderas)
  8. We Need to Talk About Kevin (MVP: Tilda Swinton)
  9. Young Adult (MVP: Charlize Theron)
  10. Shame (MVP: Michael Fassbender)

Have yet to see:

  • War Horse
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
  • The Help
  • The Muppets
  • Take Shelter
  • The Ides of March
  • Source Code
  • Jane Eyre
  • Rango
  • Pina
  • A Separation
  • Chico & Rita
  • Etc.

Thoughts on Shame:

  • Very good film. But let’s be real: it’s a 4-star film at best. I think the massive hype and praise worked a bit against me.
  • Fassbender and Mulligan were great on this film. Both were sadly snubbed at the Oscars.
  • Nicole Beharie deserves some praise, she has great chemistry with Fassbender. And she’s hot. No wonder Fassebender is fuckingdating her.
  • As fucked as it might sound, I could relate to Sissy. I had some depressing days lately and I could see her pain. Albeit, my depressing moments are for bullshit things, lol.
  • I actually thought Shame would be more raw. Don’t get me wrong, Brandon’s a fucked up character. But he could have fared worse. Like getting an STD. Or breaking his rule of fuckng hot chicks and resorting to nailing a fat woman. Hope that last line didn’t made me sound like a cunt.
  • I actually expected Carey Mulligan’s character to die. Her survival of the suicide attempt seems kinda logic-defying IMO.
  • The best use of Fassbender’s penis happens in a scene after Brandon gets trolled by Sissy, who saw him jacking off in the bathroom and then he confronts her. Sissy fears him as she also see his dick. Powerful scene and moment.
  • The first scene showing nude Sissy (I love you, Carey Mulligan) asking why Brandon didn’t knock and his response made me lol.

~ by makeyourself85 on April 30, 2012.

Leave a comment