Review: Prometheus

Prometheus - David (Michael Fassbender)

David: Big things have small beginnings.

Would you believe me if I told you that before watching Prometheus I have never seen a single film from the Alien franchise? At best, I know some bits, information and watched a few clips from the first two films, but I never bothered to watch any of them in their entirety. And I don’t know why. That changed last Saturday when I saw Prometheus.

The first teaser trailer looked really exciting enough to make me finally watch an Alien film. But as a standalone film, Prometheus works very well. Also, I watched this with a friend who saw all the Alien films and she approves of it too (you can read her review here at YAM Magazine).

Prometheus begins in 2089, when archaeologist couple Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green) discover a star map among several unconnected ancient cultures. This leads them to fly into space with crew members on the Prometheus — funded by Peter Weyland (Guy Pearce) — in search of answer regarding the origins of humanity. However, the trip doesn’t go well when extraterrestrial creatures get involved as well as conflict within the crew.

Prometheus shares similarities with the first Alien film with Ridley Scott tipping his hat with certain scenes that reminds us of the first film. It is also comparable with The Tree of Life by showing the search of hunan origins outside Earth and wondering about life tiself, but Scott doesn’t go overboard with it like Malick did. And when it comes to David (Fassbender), the film reminded me of Rise of the Planet of the Apes and The Big Bang Theory when it comes to his personality.

“I can do almost anything that could possibly be asked of me. I can assist your employees. I can make your organization more efficient. I can carry out directives that my future counterparts might find distressing or unethical. I can blend in with your workforce effortlessly.”

David is an android designed to be indistinguishable from humans. He is similar to Sheldon Cooper with his thirst for knowledge, arrogance and child-like behavior. But David isn’t flamboyant in the way Jim Parsons plays Sheldon. However, when Holloway blatantly regards David as an android rather than acknowledging him a human being more than once, David becomes the catalyst for destruction like it happened with Ceasar after Will (James Franco) abandoned him when he tried to fit in with human society. Despite turning into a selfish asshole like Sheldon, David remains engaging to watch thanks to Fassbender’s performance, which is stellar and easily the strongest in Prometheus.

Along with great camerawork, solid performances and stunning design, Prometheus is appealing to watch. Noomi Rapace carried the film very well — she made Shaw looked hopeful, vulnerable and yet also badass at the same time. Idris Elba as Captain Janek is great with his funny one-liners (especially when he gets involved with vickers) and being a BAMF without being used as comedy relif. Charlize Theron’s Meredith Vickers sets herself as a control freak, but later her actions and behavior make sense in contrast to David and Peter Weyland. The rest of the cast were good at their roles too, but didn’t stood out like Fassbender, Rapace, Elba, and Theron did.

The only problems Prometheus had were a few logic-defying moments here and there, which made me laugh and wonder how the hell was it possible for those to happen. Also, Noomi Rapace’s English accent was distracting at times, yet it didn’t took away from her great performance. As far as the 3D goes, there are a few good scenes here and there, but the film would be equally enjoyable in 2D. Still, I’d love to watch this in Blu-Ray because it’s the most visually stunning film I’ve seen so far this year.

I’m eagerly anticipating the sequel. Meanwhile, I hope I can catch up with the rest of the Alien films when I can.

Star Rating: ****

~ by makeyourself85 on June 11, 2012.

One Response to “Review: Prometheus”

  1. In total agreement that Fassbender was the strongest part of the film. Good review!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

